Did you know that Brain Hive has a Concierge?

Cool. So what?Concierge Bell

You are teachers. You are librarians. In other words, you are busy. You are focused intently on planning and grading and staff meetings and parent-teacher conferences and tons of other important stuff that demands your attention and energy. In the midst of all that, how does the fact that Brain Hive has a “Concierge” affect you?

Well, as the Concierge, I’d be happy to answer that question! But first, a little about me:

I’m Molly. I come from a background in teaching middle school English. During my years teaching, I built my pedagogy around the belief that my students were capable of thinking, writing, and talking their way through big, challenging ideas, and that one of the best ways to get this to happen was by exposing them to the best reading materials I could find. I am convinced that reading has the capacity to instruct, empower, and dazzle, and helping to provide students with stimulating, challenging texts to read is a job I am proud to do. I consider myself incredibly fortunate to have been able to find my way into careers that ground themselves firmly in this conviction – first as an English teacher, and now as Brain Hive’s Concierge.

Okay, great. But again, so what?

As your Brain Hive Concierge, I will use my professional experience and personal passion to help you in any way I can as you figure out how you would like to use Brain Hive in your school. I will be your personalized guide to all things Brain Hive. I know from first-hand experience how busy you are. I know what it’s like to want to try new technology in my classroom while simultaneously feeling daunted by it (I still bear the scars of a particularly disastrous attempt at getting my students to use a wiki as a book discussion board…). I understand how it feels to be all at once excited about implementing something new, but unsure of when I’ll have the time to plan how to do it. I have been where you are. So with this in mind, as you begin the process of using Brain Hive in your school, I’m here to help make your life easier by providing you with immediate, personalized, white-glove attention and service.

I’m offering my practical experience with standards-aligned curriculum planning and lesson implementation, as well as my knowledge of Brain Hive’s eBook collection for you to use in any way that you find helpful. If you don’t feel like you want or need my input or assistance as you introduce Brain Hive to your library or classroom, no worries! I’ll give you a virtual high five and let you get to it! I’ll check in with you from time to time, but I will only be as present as you need me to be. If you’re interested in some more hands-on attention, however, I’d be thrilled to oblige! Here are just some of the things I can help out with:

  • Are you looking for specific guidance on personalizing your Brain Hive account? Give me a call! We can walk through the setup process together.
  • Are you a librarian looking for ways to get classroom teachers in your school interested in using Brain Hive? Fantastic! Let me know when you’re free, and we can brainstorm together about how to make Brain Hive work for your unique school environment.
  • Are you a teacher interested in collaborating with a colleague in another content area for some cross-curricular adventures? I can totally get behind that! Let me hand-pick some Brain Hive eBooks that will fit in with your unit objectives.
  • Are you hoping to curate an eBook companion collection for your library’s new monthly theme? Cool! I’d love to help!
  • Are you on the lookout for eBooks aligned to a specific standard or benchmark within Common Core? Let me know what you’re looking to cover, and I’ll put together a list for you to pull from.
  • Got other ideas I haven’t listed here? Fabulous! Give me a call and we can chat about them.BH_Logo_Tag_Bee_Lockup_FinalR

There are lots of ways to keep in touch with me and stay on top of the exciting happenings at Brain Hive. Give me a call (toll-free) at 855-554-4483, or shoot me an email at concierge@brainhive.com. Find Brain Hive on Facebook, or follow us on Twitter to get book recommendations, news, and links to content from across the web that we find interesting and helpful. And of course, keep checking back with us here on the Brain Hive Buzz. My colleagues and I will be posting here regularly about topics and ideas we think will be useful to you (don’t worry, they won’t all be this long!):

  • News about new publishers and eBooks being added to the Brain Hive collection
  • Specific, concise tech tips on how to navigate the Brain Hive platform
  • Timely and thoughtful eBook recommendations
  • Meticulously curated book lists and theme sets
  • Best practices-aligned suggestions on how to use Brain Hive in your library or classroom
  • And much more!

I’m truly looking forward to working with you as you get your students excited about reading and sharing eBooks on Brain Hive. Stay in touch, and let me know how I can be of assistance to you – I’m ready and excited to help!

One thought on “Did you know that Brain Hive has a Concierge?

  1. Pingback: Recommending Titles to Students and Teachers on Brain Hive | The Brain Hive Buzz

Leave a Reply

